Mot were an early band that I listened to and was amazed at the brooding production of the songs. Both of the albums are similar in tone, but after their last full-length in 2007 I was afraid that the band had disappeared.

Now in 2012, one part of Mot released a new album and it is amazing. It brings back memories of Mot while presenting a new side. It sits and dwells in the darker side of the harmony using electronica and synth. Even when the album doesn’t use heavy tones, there is always a feeling of slight despair along with a tone of hope. The precarious balance lives on every song.

The lead single “Bulletproof” sets up the theme of the music by presenting a slower tempo, a minimal, but complex set of sounds, and vocals that appear to move through octaves without any trouble.

That song is a haunting representation of the music on Guilt-Free. The ten songs of the album also contains guitar on some songs, but those additions could simply be samples. The album is a dense listen and takes a few tries with each song to really understand how the construction of the songs work.

Thankfully, eAeon‘s album contains a second disc of instrumentals of all the songs. While not all the instrumentals work perfectly without eAeon’s excellent vocals, some of the songs are great. Guilt-Free does feel like a theory extension of Mot, but that could easily be because eAeon is the vocalist.

Essentially, eAeon’s Guilt-Free is an album you must listen to. It’s not really a choice considering how layered and complex it is. It already one of the best albums I’ve ever listened to ever.

eAeon on Twitter.